Nominations still open for CIO award

Nominations for the first CIO of the Year award have been extended to Sept. 6.

A partnership between the Information Technology Association of Canada (ITAC) and CanadianCIO magazine, the award will recognize an outstanding CIO who shows business and technological vision, entrepreneurship, a capacity to drive enterprise transformation, and a measurable operational strength that delivers shareholder or stakeholder value.

It will be presented Nov. 12 in Toronto as part of ITAC’s Ingenious Awards Gala.

Nomination forms are available here.

Active CIOs employed by Canadian-based organizations in the private, public or not-for-profit sectors are eligible.

“This is an opportunity for IT leaders in Canada to do something that sometimes feels very un-Canadian: publicly celebrate their success and achievements in business transformation,” said Shane Schick, edtior of CanadianCIO magazine. “At a time when ownership over technology decisions seems to be overtaken by everyone from marketing departments and everyday employees, this award is a good reminder of how important the role of the CIO is, and will continue to be.”

The five judges on the panel are:

–Ronan D. McGrath, former CIO of Rogers Communications, Inc., and president of Rogers Shared Services;

–Gary Davenport, president of the CIO Association of Canada and vice-president of information technology at MTS Allstream Inc.;

–Ron McKerlie, former deputy minister of Ontario’s Ministry of Government Services and incoming president of Hamilton’s Mohawk College;

–Paul Tsaparis, Hewlett-Packard’s former vice-president of technology for the Americas.

CanadianCIO is part of IT World Canada, which also publishes, Computing Canada,, Direction Informatique and Computer Dealer News.

Would you recommend this article?


Thanks for taking the time to let us know what you think of this article!
We'd love to hear your opinion about this or any other story you read in our publication.

Jim Love, Chief Content Officer, IT World Canada

Featured Download

Howard Solomon
Howard Solomon
Currently a freelance writer, I'm the former editor of and Computing Canada. An IT journalist since 1997, I've written for several of ITWC's sister publications including and Computer Dealer News. Before that I was a staff reporter at the Calgary Herald and the Brampton (Ont.) Daily Times. I can be reached at hsolomon [@]

Featured Articles

Cybersecurity in 2024: Priorities and challenges for Canadian organizations 

By Derek Manky As predictions for 2024 point to the continued expansion...

Survey shows generative AI is a top priority for Canadian corporate leaders.

Leaders are devoting significant budget to generative AI for 2024 Canadian corporate...

Related Tech News

Tech Jobs

Our experienced team of journalists and bloggers bring you engaging in-depth interviews, videos and content targeted to IT professionals and line-of-business executives.

Tech Companies Hiring Right Now