CIO of The Year Awards

Presented by

In Partnership with

The CIO of the Year Awards recognize Canadian technology leaders who have demonstrated business and technological vision, entrepreneurship, a capacity to drive enterprise transformation and a demonstrated ability to drive value in the marketplace.

A total of four awards will be presented annually in the following categories:

CIO of the Year

Virtual Reception

July 16, 2020

The CIO of the Year Awards will be presented at a special virtual reception held as part of ITWC’s Digital Transformation Week 2020 .


Program Timing


Awards Presentation

July 16, 2020

Submission Criteria

The awards are open to all senior technology leaders serving Canadian organizations in the following categories:  

The Private Sector Award is open to the senior technology leader at any private sector company of any size.

The Public Sector Award is open to senior technology leaders from federal, provincial and municipal governments as well as all associated agencies, Crown corporations, universities, schools and hospitals.

The Not for Profit Award is open to technology leaders with registered Canadian charities and associations. This is a new award for 2020.

Next Generation Leader Award will be presented to a technology leader who continuously strives for excellence, best management practices and innovation. They will be recognized as demonstrating remarkable promise and outstanding talent as a future leader in the technology sector. This is a new award for 2020.

How Do I Apply?

Nominations are a two-stage process in 2020

Phase 1

In an effort to find the best candidates, the nomination process has been divided into two phases. In the initial phase starting in mid-February, CanadianCIO and CIOCAN will be seeking national nominations with an online submission form that calls out the nominees’ accomplishments and the context in which they were achieved. The nominations can be submitted by colleagues, vendors or through self-nomination.

Phase 2

The initial round of nominations will close in early April and an independent panel of judges will determine three finalists in each category. The finalists will be approached and asked to provide two letters of recommendation attesting to the nominee’s accomplishments. The nominator cannot write the recommendation letter.

Note: The nomination letter for the Next Generation Leader Award must be from the nominees’ director or manager and should clearly indicate why the individual should be considered an up and coming leader.

The independent panel of judges will select all winners based on both the submission and the nomination letters.

Incentive to Nominate

The CIO of the Year program is about more than awards. It provides an opportunity for the top players in the CIO community to take a bow and be recognized in a public way for the work that often does not get the attention it deserves. The CIO of the Year program includes:

  • Editorial profiles of all finalists in ITWC publications
  • Finalists participate in a Town Hall discussion on current CIO issues
  • The four winners are recognized in front of their peers at an evening celebration
  • Winners may be invited to participate on a panel at the CIO Association’s Peer Forum
  • Winners receive a one-year CIOCAN membership
  • Entry into the national CanadianCIO Hall of Fame

Our Judges


Jim Love
Gary Davenport
Past President, CIOCAN


Mark Bryant
CIO, PCL Construction
Johanne Duhaime
Vice President – Information and Communications Technologies at Hydro-Québec
Philippe Johnston
Director General, Digital Services Directorate, Transport Canada
Helen Knight
Principal, Helen Knight Consulting
Humza Teherany
CIO and Chief Digital Officer, Maple Leaf Sports and Entertainment
Shari Wallace
CIO, City of Burnaby

CanadianCIO Hall of Fame