Wednesday, August 10, 2022

Cyber Security Today: Malware on Facebook, a scam aimed at Apple users and a teacher’s mistake

Malware spread through Facebook, a scam aimed at Apple users and a teacher makes a big email mistake.

We’re bringing you the latest cyber security news Welcome to Cyber Security Today. It’s Monday May 14th. To hear the podcast click on the arrow below:

Cyber Security Today on Amazon Alexa Subscribe to Cyber Security Today on Google Play Subscribe to Cyber Security Today on Apple Podcasts

We’re bringing you the latest cyber security news Welcome to Cyber Security Today. It’s Monday May 14th. I’m Howard Solomon.

Many of you know about being careful not to click on suspicious links in your email. The same warning applies to text messages and social media. Security vendor Radware has found a new campaign for spreading malware through Facebook. A message suggests a video worth seeing, which takes the unsuspecting victim to a fake YouTube page. The user is then asked to install a Chrome browser extension to play the video. That extension is malware that steals their Facebook login credentials and can be used for fraud. Radware believes this campaign has been going on since at least March and has infected more than 100,000 users in over 100 countries.

As some of our listeners know, the tough new European Union privacy regulation known as GDPR comes into effect May 25th. To make sure they comply, companies are emailing people on their lists to confirm they want to continue receiving messages. Scammers are taking advantage of this. They’re sending email with messages asking people to update their privacy settings or confirm a new privacy policy. All the user has to do is click on the provided link – which is either malicious or takes them to a phony site. Trend Micro says the latest scam is an email entitled “Update your payment details,” which tells users their Apple accounts have been suspended because of unusual activity. It asks them to click a link to update their payment details. The real goal is to trick Apple users to giving up their IDs and passwords.

Some alert messages can be legit. If you want to be safe, go to a company’s web site yourself to access your account, rather than click on a link in an email.

Email is a wonderful way to communicate – as long as you’re careful. But often we rush through writing messages and hit the send button without carefully checking who it’s going to. A private high school in Britain learned that lesson the hard way this month. Someone intended to send an email with sensitive information about students to a list of teachers. Instead it went to a list of parents. It included log-ins and passwords to different teacher platforms. The school apologized and is investigating. So remember, slow down.

That’s it for Cyber Security Today. Subscribe on Apple Podcasts, Google Play, or add us to your Alexa Flash Briefing. Thanks for listening. I’m Howard Solomon.

Would you recommend this article?

Share

Thanks for taking the time to let us know what you think of this article!
We'd love to hear your opinion about this or any other story you read in our publication.


Jim Love, Chief Content Officer, IT World Canada
Howard Solomon
Howard Solomon
Currently a freelance writer, I'm the former editor of ITWorldCanada.com and Computing Canada. An IT journalist since 1997, I've written for several of ITWC's sister publications including ITBusiness.ca and Computer Dealer News. Before that I was a staff reporter at the Calgary Herald and the Brampton (Ont.) Daily Times. I can be reached at hsolomon [@] soloreporter.com

ITWC podcast network

Subscribe to ITWC podcasts and never fall behind on the conversation in technology again. Our daily podcasts are perfect to add to your smart speaker’s daily briefing or to your favourite podcast app on your smartphone. 

Cyber Security Today Podcast

#Hashtag Trending Podcast