This is your opportunity to demonstrate what excellence in the management of information technology looks like.
See the release below. There will be a lot more activity around this program in the weeks to come. Stay tuned.

TORONTO – ComputerWorld Canada, the country’s leading publication for information technology professionals, is celebrating its 25th anniversary by issuing a call for submissions to a new awards program that will honour those who have demonstrated outstanding vision in the application of information technology and the management of people who use it. 

The ComputerWorld Canada IT Leadership Awards will be held on May 10, 2010 at a gala ceremony in Toronto. The IT Leadership Awards will recognize the different complexities and issues for small to medium business versus large enterprises. Therefore, the awards will be divided into two separate categories: SMB and Enterprise covering private, public and broader sector nominations.

Categories will include:

ComputerWorld Canada’s IT Leader of the Year – recognizing the outstanding achievements of someone in a senior-level IT management role reporting to a senior-level executive.

IT Champion of the Year — the non-IT advocate who championed the cause of the value technology delivers to an organization. 

IT Manager of the Year — the mid-level IT manager or director reporting to a vice-president or chief information officer who gets things done.

Rookie of the Year — the recent graduate or professional just entering the workforce who shows promise and potential

IT Mentor of the Year — The professional who has demonstrated a record of consistent outreach toward individuals in the IT field.

IT Educator of the Year – The academic who ensures Canada’s IT industry has the skill sets it needs.

“ComputerWorld Canada has spent the last quarter-century bringing together a community who celebrate a kinship in being a professional IT practitioner,” said Shane Schick, Editor-in-Chief, IT World Canada. “In celebrating the achievements of the largest IT community in the nation and in exploring the cooperative spirit and kinship amongst those dedicated to IT excellence, this is your awards program and your time to be recognized.”

A high-calibre roster of industry veterans will serve as judges for the program. This includes program chair Paul Swinwood, president of ICTC, Andrew Dillane, president of the CIO Association of Canada, Dr. Peter Carr, director, MMSc Management of Technology Online at the University of Waterloo and many others.

Nominations to the first-annual ComputerWorld Canada IT Leadership Awards can be made online at ComputerWorld Canada will be showcasing high-profile nominations and profiling its judges in its upcoming issues in 2010.


Dave Webb,
Editor, ComputerWorld Canada
(416)290-0240 ext. 349 

Joe Tersigni
Vice-president and group publisher, IT World Canada


Would you recommend this article?

Thanks for taking the time to let us know what you think of this article!
We'd love to hear your opinion about this or any other story you read in our publication. Click this link to send me a note →

Jim Love, Chief Content Officer, IT World Canada

Related Download
Moving to the Cloud: Beyond the Myths Sponsor: Carbon60
Moving to the Cloud: Beyond the Myths
Get on the road to cloud success by moving past the myths around it.
Register Now